Week 10 Reflection

This week I started my last units with all of my classes, and so for the next 2 weeks I will be completing my last assessments with my students. Report card marks for term 3 were due on Friday, and I was able to choose appropriate work ethics and comments to go with my students grades this term. I find the process can be a little hectic with students completing assessments right up until deadline time. However, this week cruised by smoothly and I feel I was able to accomplish all the goals I had for the week. I was able to get some students from my grade 8 classes to complete assessment or re attempt assessment to finish their term grades or improve them in time. In my grade 11 classes I was successful in providing support for students to complete any re-writes they wanted before term grades were entered, and to have the majority complete their last assessment of the term on time.
My observation this week was great as well, and I went away from it ready to apply a couple of the tools and techniques my faculty advisor gave me. My sponsor teacher and I worked together the next class to implement some of her ideas and I was thrilled with my student’s responses. I will continue to use these strategies such as entrance slips, and checking for learning in my next couple weeks.
I introduced a new assessment strategy with my grade 11 classes for the last unit I am working with them on, and so far the feedback has been excellent. I gave them 3 options to choose from as their final assessment of the unit which were; to write a unit test I had created, to have a one-on-one interview with me about the unit, or to write their own test and then present it to me. I found that most students wanted to continue with writing a unit test that I had written, but I did have a nice amount of students trying new things by choosing the interview or test creation. When I presented the strategies to them I also provided rubrics of how I would assess them on the two new strategies, so they would be able to know exactly what I am looking for in each category. I’m glad I am able to finish off my teaching with these classes by trying something new, and at the same time using the different strategies that I needed to incorporate into my practice. I have had a lot of great feedback and questions from my students since presenting this, and I look forward to the final products next week.
This next week is my last full week of teaching because I will start to hand back my classes to my sponsor teachers the following week. I plan to finish strong by continuing my class structure and monitoring behaviour and progress, and have fun trying new things with my students. I feel great right now about the position I sit in as I am finishing my practicum, and have definitely learned a lot that I will take with me into my future practice.

Leave a Reply

